PH and New Zealand Turn Over Peacekeeping Co-Chairmanship to New Co-Chairs

The Philippines and New Zealand during the meeting on February 14 of the Experts Working Group (EWG) on Peacekeeping Operations welcomed the new co-chairs Cambodia and the Republic of Korea (ROK) which will now co-chair the group until 2017. The PH and New Zealand were co-chairs from 2011-2014, which is the first cycle of co-chairmanships following the establishment of the EWGs in 2011.

The co-chairmanship of the Philippines and New Zealand saw the EWG organizing activities that promote practical cooperation among the members of the ADMM-Plus. These include the Table Top Exercise on Peacekeeping Operations which was held two days prior to the EWG meeting, Force Generation Workshop in 2013, Workshop on Peacekeeping Operational Challenges and Regional Capabilities Workshop both in 2012 and the Seminar on Legal Aspects of PKO in 2011.

The ASEAN Secretariat noted that the EWG on PKO is the second most active among the five EWGs of the ADMM-Plus (the other EWGs are on maritime security, counter-terrorism, Humanitarian Assistance and Disaster Response and military medicine)During the final EWG meeting co-chaired by the PH and New Zealand, the group examined the 2014-2017 action plan initially prepared by the in-coming co-chairs, Cambodia and the Republic of Korea and exchanged ideas on the future activities of the EWGs.

As Asec. Raymund Quilop and Mr. Dan Melshop, the PH and New Zealand Co-chairs, respectively handed over a miniature UN blue helmet as symbol of their co-chairmanship to the new co-chairs, Cambodia and South Korea vowed to keep the momentum going and would ensure that the EWG will continue to promote practical cooperation among the members of the ADMM-Plus.